If the court convicts you of a DUI, it will order you to participate in a DUI program through a provider approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). You will need to take one of two DUI classes: a Level 1 course for first-time offenders, or a Level 2 course for repeat offenders.
The FLHSMV explains that the purpose of these courses is to “provide education, a psychosocial evaluation, and treatment referral services to DUI offenders to satisfy judicial and driver licensing requirements.”
It is important to meet all the terms of your court order and register for an approved DUI course in a timely manner. If you have questions about your DUI case or need legal representation, call a DUI defense attorney at Goldman Wetzel to request a consult: 727-828-3900.
Where can I take a DUI course?
While the content is almost identical, the fees, class times, and registration processes varies slightly by provider, so be sure to read the details for any course you sign up for. You can register in person or online.
If you reside in Pinellas, Hillsborough, Manatee, or Sarasota County, here are the approved providers, along with their contact information and course fees:
Pinellas County DUI Classes
455 31st Street N.
St. Petersburg, FL 33713
1145 Court Street
Clearwater, FL 33756
Level 1 fees: $276.50. Level II fees: $421.50.
Hillsborough County DUI Classes
4711 North Hubert Avenue
Tampa, FL 33614
Level 1 fees: $288.50. Level II fees: $433.50.
Manatee & Sarasota County DUI Classes
5840 26th Street
West Bradenton, FL 34207
Level 1 fees: $275. Level II fees: $420.
What can I expect in the DUI program?
Level 1 DUI classes involve 12 hours of instruction; Level 2 courses involve 21. The courses are interactive, group-oriented, and flexible, and focus on making good choices.
In them, you will review of Florida traffic laws relating to DUI and learn about the DUI court process. The class will also address issues such as substance abuse and chemical dependency, and will help you develop alternatives to impaired driving and provide you with a list of helpful community resources.
If you need further help after a DUI or have questions specific to your case, we will be happy to help. Contact Goldman Wetzel at 727-828-3900.