What Happens to a Professional License After an Arrest?

There is a lot on the line when you are up against criminal charges. You could face imprisonment, fines, probation, and loss of civil liberties, among other penalties. The stakes are even higher when you …

Posted in:

How Long Can Someone Be Held in Jail Without Being Charged?

Someone can be held in jail for 33 days without being charged, according to Rule 3.134 of the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure. It is important to note that the state actually only has 30 days to charge …

Posted in:

What Is the Difference Between Being Indicted and Charged?

The difference between being indicted and charged relies on who files the charges. “Being charged” with a crime means the prosecutor filed charges. An indictment means the grand jury filed charges …

Posted in:

Do I Have to Install an Ignition Interlock Device After a DUI?

You may have to install an ignition interlock device after a DUI, depending on the severity of the offense and whether you have prior offenses. We may be able to help you avoid having to install ignition …

Posted in:

How Long Can You Be Held in Jail Without Seeing a Judge?

One of the first things people who have been arrested want to know is how long they can be held in jail without seeing a judge. Florida law provides that arrestees must have their first appearance, also …

Posted in: ,

What Happens If You Get Arrested While On Probation?

If you get arrested while on probation in Florida, the court will likely revoke your probation and you might end up back in jail. What Can I Expect If I Am Arrested While on Probation? When you get arrested …

Posted in:

Can I Get Arrested for Being High?

With the recent legalization of medical marijuana and the ongoing process of decriminalization of recreational marijuana in Florida, many people are curious about what is and is not legal. State laws …

Posted in:

Burglary vs. Robbery: What’s the Difference?

Many people mix up burglary and robbery, but the two offenses are very different. They often occur together, but may also occur in conjunction with other crimes or on their own. Below, we detail the differences …

Posted in:

What Constitutes Sexual Battery in Florida?

Per Florida Statute § 794.011, any type of sexual penetration or union committed without the other party’s consent constitutes sexual battery. The nature of the contact need not include intercourse. …

Posted in:

Is Domestic Battery a Felony in Florida?

In most cases in Florida, domestic battery is not a felony. Simple domestic battery is a first-degree misdemeanor. While you might think a misdemeanor is no big deal, the charges, social stigma, and associated …

Posted in: ,

Get the latest legal updates and news you want! Sign up for our monthly newsletter.